Sunday, January 31, 2010

Football Banquet

In a lovely celebration for our departing seniors and recognition of outstanding performances, today's football banquet did not disappoint. It was wonderful to see many of our fans supporting our players, coaches, and their families in this tribute to the 2009 season. Tim Strachan, sitting in for Johnny Holliday, emceed and did a great job. We heard from Larry Grabenstein, Chairman of the MGN, thanking the MGNers for their devoted support and reminding folks to please continue. We heard from our AD, Debbie Yow, who also thanked the seniors and our fans.

The reception for seniors that preceded the banquet put our scrapbookers together with their seniors and families. Pary Harris coordinates this wonderful gift. Special thanks to the following MGN people who are paired with the player whose scrapbook they made:

Nolan Carroll - Karel Petraitis
Phil Costa - Fabian Jimenez
Deege Galt - Jess Klaube
Tommy Galt - Jess Klaube
Jared Harrell - Gloria Friedgen/Debbie Bebee
Travis Ivey - Marilyn Eshoo
Cory Jackson - Alan Gross
David May - Jim Routh
Jamari McCollough - Barbara Gold
Terrell Skinner - Gloria Friedgen/Debbie Bebee
Hakeem Sule - Thomas Jackson
Richard Taylor - Pary Harris
Chris Turner - Pat & Austin Maguire
Anthony Wiseman - Kristina Friedgen
Danny Edwards - Pary Harris
Josh Horton - Pary Harris
Matt Harraka - Pary Harris

After the dinner at Martin's Crosswinds, awards were announced:

Top Special Teams Performer
Nick Ferrara

Freshman of the Year
Demetrius Hartsfield

A.V. Williams Award for Outstanding and Conspicuous Sportsmanship
Jared Harrell

George C. Cook Memorial Award to the Senior with the Highest GPA
Cory Jackson

Alvin L Aubinoe Award for the Unsung Hero
Offense: Paul Pinegar Defense: Deege Galt

C.P. "Lefty" McIntosh Public Service Award
Nolan Carroll

James M. Tatum Memorial Award for Lineman of the YEar
Offense: Phil Costa Defense: Travis Ivey

George Boutselis Memorial Award for the Letterman with the Highest GPA
Travis Baltz and Paul LaRiviere

Dt. John E. Faber Award - Iron Man
Tommy Galt

Terrapin club Award for the Greatest Career Contribution to Football
Cory Jackson
Chris Turner

Scout Team, Defensive Player of the Year
Deonte Arnette

Scout Team Offensive Player of the Year
Clay Belton

Most Improved Defensive Player
Cameron Chism

Most Improved Offensive Player
Jamarr Robinson

Most Valuable Defensive Player
Alex Wujcak

Most Valuable Offensive Player
Torrey Smith

Ray Krouse Memorial Award for Team Most Valuable Player
Torrey Smith

Distinguished Contributor Award
Doug Plain
Aspen Hill Outback

Fan of the Year
Meridel and Gary L. Jackson

The event closed with Ralph thanking the seniors for their hard work and reminding the underclassmen that the new season has begun. Time for growth is over; time to step it up is now. We have the experience and the determination for a great year.

We think so too! Hope to see you at the recruiting celebration on Wednesday, February 3rd!

No comments:

Post a Comment

We appreciate your comments but please be advised that your comment will be moderated and will be removed for any reason at the absolute discretion of the site owner. Thank you.